zimmern_ss_korea_001

A foreigner’s perspective on Korean food is always fascinating to me.  Since I am Korean and I LOVE/HEART/ADORE Korean food, I know I am completely bias.  But as John and I sat around watching Andrew Zimmern trek around Korea and as he described one of my favorite food “dduk bok ki” as  “play-dough with spicy sauce,” I totally cringed! 

 

This actually reminds me of the time when I was watching Bobby Flay making “instant-kimchi/kimchi salad.”  It was so far from the Korean food that I grew up with, it bothered me so much that I actually wrote Bobby Flay an email.   Well, a lady named Stephanie Banyas on his staff replied to my email in this fashion:

 

” Bobby never claims to cook authentic food on Boy Meets Grill.  All the recipes that he prepares are “his” interpretation of other cuisine..such as Spanish, Italian, Chinese and yes, even Korean.  The kimchi that Bobby prepared was a quick kimchi and actually it is delicious and is one of the most requested recipes from all of his shows.  Remember, there is more than one way to skin a cat.  I hope you have a nice day too”

I don’t know what she’s like in person, but I thought the email was pretty “jack-ass” -like! 

