3092_89811946544_615571544_2157112_6583379_n2

Last night, Gina, Alex, John and I attended the “this american life” live event.  I wasn’t sure what to expect but I had listened to my favorite TAL shows all day to emotionally and intellectually prepare myself for this event.  The event was pretty awesome.  IRA GLASSSSSSSSSSSS!  Soooo incredibly funny man and witty too.  How attractive/sexy is that really?  It was a funny, moving, thought-provoking, entertaining, and insightful as always.  I totally think it was worth the money, although I’m sure John would beg the differ. 

Here’s a total coinky dinkies about this event and John and I.  So, this event happened on 4/23, which is our 8th official anniversary.  And this show is being aired on 5/2, which is our 5th wedding anniversary.  Coincidence?  I clearly think NOT!

Anywho, here’s my top 10 favorite episodes of this american life.  These are not in any particular order.  I love them all!  After making this list, I realized how many episodes that I really love.  There are so many that I couldn’t put on this list that I LOVE.

  1. #268: My Experimental Phase – Curly Oxide!!!!!!  This is a classic.  I actually have a rabbit cut hanging in by my desk named “curly oxide”!
  2. #293: A Little Bit of Knowledge – This is the “modern jackass” episode.  Quesadilla = What’s the deal?  Unicorn isn’t real?  What about elves?  And the “Xing” signs?  So good!
  3. #61:Fiasco! – This episode has Jack Hitt, and the Car Talk guys.  Nuff said
  4. #306: Seemed Like A Good Idea at the Time – This whole epsiode is pretty fantastic.  But what still cracks me up is “let’s do it for the lottery”!  I still shout this out time to time to few friends and we still crack up.
  5. #147: A Teenager’s Guide to God – This was very interesting to me since I’ve been involved in the Youth group for years and years.  I thought it an interesting perspective on religion, youth and God.
  6. #339: Break-Up – This will have something for everyone, including any Phil Collins fans.  Really fantastic episode that I LOVE!
  7. #182: Cringe – I think this episode is so good because we all had a “cringe” moment.  All of us.  So we could totally empathize with these stories.
  8. #244: MacGyver – Nuff said!
  9. #288: Not What I meant –  I actually parked my car at the parking lot of Target for 20 mins so that I could finish this episode.
  10. #165: Americans in Paris – This American Life, Ira Glass, and David Sedaris.  Do I need to explain further? 
