So every morning I take the bus to Port Authority and then take the subway to work. So if you’ve been to the Port, you know there’s Au Bon Pain everywhere. I remember getting stuff there sometimes when I went to NYU and it being pretty good. Well I was running late and just getting hungry so I decided to get a chocolate croissant there. ………….WOW what a mistake.

Ok, I’m not one of those food snobs. I just really can’t distinguish good food from great food. I’m sure I can pick what I think is better but when I’m eating I don’t tend to compare. I just savor what’s in front of me. It’s either tasty and edible or not. This is why I can eat leftovers for days and days.

Anyway. I don’t know if it was a bad batch or what. But considering I’ve been eating a lot of Amy’s Bread’s and Sarabeth’s chocolate croissant, I expect buttery goodness. Which this was not. I can’t describe the disappointment. It’s like if you were in some raffle for a million dollars and they’re going to announce the winner’s name. So you hear the first, “Gina ..” so you take a step forward with a goofy grin on your face. “.. Rodriguez!” OOOHHHHHH. She pushes past you. And there you are. Foolish. That’s how I feel. Dang…

And yes, I’m a chocolate croissant snob.

