abduct_span

Heard about this story about Jaycee Dugard Saturday morning in the comforts of bed.  As I was listening to the story being told in front of me, I couldn’t stop wondering what life was like for Jaycee and her 2 kids for the past 18 years.  For 18 years, she had missed out in so much of the real world and so much of life.  Not only that, she was living in conditions that most of us would be mortified by.

Then it made me question where God was in all this.  In the midst of this tragedy.  In the midst of someone’s life.  In the midst of such injustice.  He knows all, sees all, and is everywhere all the time.  So how can He let this happen?  How can he allow this to happen to someone? 

I just don’t have an answer.  I just don’t know.  Cause my little mind with my little understanding of who God is, I just can’t rationalize or grasp His ways in such situation.  I know that’s not good enough answer for most people and actually that’s not good enough answer for me either.  But I can’t try to understand God in these kind of situation when I am struggling with His place in my own life.

Many times, I am so self-absorbed in my little world with my worries and my life that I forget how blessed I really am.  Why do I refuse to see that most of the time?  So focused on all the things that He’s not doing in my life and so focused on things that I don’t have in my life, I can’t see the incredible things that He is doing and has given in my life.

 

