I don’t know if I would consider myself the biggest Anthony Bourdain fan, but his show “No Reservations” has been one of my favorite shows for a fairly long time.  I actually became his fan while watching him on Food Network in “Kitchen Confidential.”

And because of my recent obsession with Korean drama, I have been neglecting Mr. Bourdain and his pure articulate brilliance until this morning.  The episodes that I watched were “Heartland” and “Liberia“.  His unparalleled ability to convey emotion, experience, and all 5 senses still amazes me after all these years.  He makes me want to travel, he makes me want to eat good food and expect nothing less, and he also wants me to pick up my camera to take some fantastic pictures of food.

I have to be honest, I don’t always get his sophisticated metaphors, the innuendos that are drenched in literary references, nor do I fully understand(without John explaining them to me) the intricate sexual wordplay that he’s obviously mastered.  Clearly, I’m not cultured enough, haven’t read enough, nor experienced enough in life to fully understand his unbelievably skilled writing style.

However, I do enjoy it tremendously and have incredible amount of respect for his talent.   I probably wouldn’t have the balls to try all of the things he eats when he travels, but it sure makes me want to be more adventurous in my food intake for sure.

